The Musée carré was designed by none other than Philippe Ledoux, who brought us so many beautiful vintage Hermès scarves.
This scarf was first issued in 1962 and pays homage to Émile Hermès‘ vast collection of art and artifacts. What is today informally called the Émile Hermès Museum, is located above the Hermès flagship store on 24 Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré is unfortunately not open to the public.
Émile Hermès’ former offices form an impressive series of wood-paneled rooms and house his vast collection, which might at first glance seem disorganized in the sense that is so varied and ranges from lapelles to paintings, model boats and coaches, to walking sticks, etchings and drawings, stirrups, spurs, elaborate bits and as well as antique coin purses.
It was perhaps in these rooms surrounded by the very things he loved sitting at his desk, that Émile first conceived the idea to transform the scarf, which was until then a men’s accessory, into “a must have” for every woman.
The carré as we know it, was born in 1937. Both Grygkar and Ledoux drew inspiration from this unique, eclectic and vast collection and under Émile’s careful and watchful eye, carrés such as Les Cles (the Keys), Ludovicus Magnus and Ex Libris were born.
The Musée Hermès carre also reflects Ledoux’s love of the Musée National de la Marine, which he frequented often and which also inspired many of his carrés.
The Musée Hermès scarf is a wonderful collage of all things Hermès as well as a beautiful rendering and a reflection of Philippe Ledoux incredible talents as an artist.
It contains so many wonderful objects d’art, many of which we of course recognize from other Hermès designs …